Deep within i keep feeling the pull from an elephant. It feels as though the elephant is constantly reminding me to be. Lately it feels like there’s an elephant always walking gently, patiently but firmly behind me, guiding me. But sometimes with distractions i don’t seem to hear too well.

photo(4)

Ever since i received the painting above (which is now hung above my bed), I feel like its a constant reminder for me to tune in to my deepest self, to be quieter, to listen more. This rings parallel to a Sound Healing session done a few short months ago with Shervin Boloorian. During the session he placed different colored silk cloths over our body as we lay. When he started playing a particular instrument i felt great discomfort. Later it was shared that the color of the cloth he placed on me was our crown chakra and the particular instrument (he must’ve brought at least 10 different instruments) represents our deepest higher self. During the session i had a image of a guide too. Right away i knew what was happening. My deepest self had been speaking to me to guide me but i haven’t been paying attention and being quiet enough. I can recall distinctly that i was in a phase of life where i was holding a lot of sadness and pain. And i was deeply troubled. But instead of turning in, i was turning outwards, which wasn’t helping anything. And it is made clear during the Sound Healing session that my inner most being, the universe, God, wanted me to listen, to pay attention once again.

And now the case feels parallel to my elephant guide. I googled “Elephant spirit guide” and received some of the following interesting information:

“Elephant – Symbol of the Highest True Self
Deeply committed to all creatures with whom they have relationships, elephants are tough when protecting others and gentle when nurturing them. The matriarch (the oldest, most experienced female leader of a herd) leads in a way that is both gentle and inclusive. Elephants are able to communicate telepathically. This can teach us how to truly listen to others.

Loyal and affectionate elephants would risk their lives for the sake of others in a family group. Wild elephants have been known to grieve and even shed tears when a family member has passed away. Elephants have amazing memories and when mistreated they often seek revenge.

Elephants show us that by supporting and loving one another, our own ability to thrive in the physical world is enhanced. We learn from them to pass on the gift of nurturing we received in our early years, be it from our biological family or others who helped us grow into who we are now. We must honour the elders of our community and nurture the young. Like the elephant, we need to help ease the transitions of those who are going into adulthood with gentle love, wisdom, patience and compassion. By having open hearts and minds, we can create strong relationships within the community, therefore building a strong community.

In the dark, Elephant symbolizes the abusive, enraged, out of control male.”

What is spot on is the inclusion of the Dark Side of the elephant, being able to get out of control and enraged. I do understand that my life can be walked in two paths because of my capacity, a very destructive one or a very positive, enriching and enlightening one. Our choices determines our future. The dark side of me is also something i’d always have to be reminded of, but relaxed and not taken too seriously because like all things, there’s two sides.

All animals have something precious and divine to teach us, not by talking, but by showing. The way they are, the way they live. That is the purpose of animals. Helping us, guiding us, without ever infringing on the law of free will.

I have much to learn.

